

## Beaumont-Cherry Valley Water District

PRESS RELEASE

560 Magnolia Avenue · Beaumont, CA 92223 · (951) 845-9581 · www.bcvwd.org

## BOARD OF DIRECTORS

CONTACT: Yolanda Rodriguez (951) 845-9581 x 224 · <u>yolanda.rodriguez@bcvwd.org</u>

JUNE 14, 2018

Division 1

Andy

Ramirez

## Beaumont-Cherry Valley Water District Changes Start Time of its Regular Meetings

Division 2
Claudeen
Diaz

BEAUMONT, CA – The Board of Directors of the Beaumont-Cherry Valley Water District voted to start its regular meetings earlier in the evening in order to alleviate the frequency of late evening meetings. The regular meetings will now begin at 6 p.m.

Division 3

Daniel

Slawson

The Board also voted to add one regular monthly meeting to its docket to assure adequate time to study and discuss the increased amount of business on the District's agenda. Meetings will now be held twice per month, at 6 p.m. on the second Wednesday, and on the fourth Thursday of every month.

John
Covington
President

The Thursday meetings are generally designated as an Engineering Workshop.

Division 5
David
Hoffman

President John Covington said, "This will reduce the number of times the Board has adjourned late in the evening, and allows for more adequate time to address the increasing amount of business before the Board."

**- 30 -**

Beaumont-Cherry Valley Water District was formed in 1919 and is governed by a publicly-elected five member Board of Directors. BCVWD is an independent special district that provides water service to 51,400 customers in a 28-square mile service area. Board members are:

Division 1: **Andy Ramirez**, Vice President. Director Ramirez was elected in 2016. He is a member of the Personnel Committee. He has more than 10 years' experience with infrastructure in both the public and private sector.

Division 2: **Claudeen Diaz**. Director Diaz was appointed to the Board in April 2017 and serves as Secretary of the Board. She has more than 20 years' experience in the water industry and is a member of the Finance and Audit Committee.

Division 3: Daniel Slawson. Director Slawson was elected to the Board in 2012.

Division 4: **John Covington**, President. Mr. Covington was elected in 2014 and has also served as Treasurer. He is the chair of the Personnel Committee. Mr. Covington began his water career at BCVWD in 2000 as a Water Distribution System Operator / Supervisor and has advanced to manage the Morongo Band of Mission Indians Water and Wastewater Department. He has more than 30 years' experience in the industry.

Division 5: **David Hoffman**, Treasurer. Elected to the Board in 2014, Director Hoffman has been a local businessman since 1982. He chairs the Finance and Audit Committee.